Teaching Talia

Teachers and training departments teaching teachers/trainers about training…

Posted on: July 26, 2010

I’ve spent the last few weeks complaining (with outher members of our work place) about the complete and unter lack of training that the Department of Training, actually gives. And here I am, in a staffing predicament, where one of my staff members obviously hasn’t been trained properly on how to do their job. My staffing problem leads itself to all sorts of issues, but as I complained about the ironic lack of training the department gives, I was struck with the ironic lack of training we give our staff when we are in fact, a training organisation.

I have no other choice then to take this on board and do something about it. Hence the pages of lists I have been writing all afternoon. The problem I find with training staff, is that it is incredibly time consuming, and difficult to know what to put in. It is easier to think, “I will just teach this person XYZ when they need to know it, not when they first start”. Only then, it gets to the time when XYZ needs to be done, and you end up with no time to do said training. The end result is an unacceptable piece of work from your employee, a frustrated self, a frustrated boss, and a frustrated employee. Ah, the joys of Middle Management!

Because I BELIEVE in training (and more specifically online training), I believe it’s worth the time you put into training staff. My big question is though, WHAT do new staff need to know?

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far (in no particular order):

  • Philosophy of our company
  • How we started/got to where we are today
  • Our training beliefs
  • Why we do what we do
  • Expectations of staff
  • How to do specific things (thinking this will be a “How To” manual…)
  • Processes
  • Policies for staff and students
  • Procedures for various positions
  • Company heirachy

Do you have anything you can add to my list?! Help!

Leave a Reply

Talia

Just finished my Graduate Certificate in Cross Disciplinary Art and Design with UNSW.

Love.

Archives

Categories

RSS taliacarbis.com

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

