Teaching Talia

Rate Your Teacher Online!

Posted on: May 3, 2007

 I have moved to teachingtalia.com!

I thought that this was an interesting read from the Sydney Morning Herald.

This site lets you rate a teacher from 1-5. There’s a bit an uproar about it as some principles and teachers in Sydney and NSW have been badly defamed and are not happy.

I’m pretty sure that this is the site, but I’m not 100% sure. There is a bit of concern on the internet with “The Staffroom” posting an article entitled “How To Get Your Teacher Sacked“. It’s talking about how easy it is for sites like this to cause trouble and a lot of fuss and pain.

It’s not all negative- you CAN rate the teacher well of course. I had a little go (it’s all anonymous) and rated one of my favourite high school teachers. I gave her a 4 out of 5 (there’s always room for improvement!).

My Uni (CQU Noosa) is on there, and everything I know of that I searched for is on there, it’s really quite comprehensive. Just so you all know, it was the top listing on Google when I searched for ‘rate your teacher’.

I’d be interested to know what people think about me going on that site and doing that. My REASON for doing it (even though I’m a ‘teacher’) is that age old saying, you keep your friends close, and your enemies closer. Plus it’s a bit like spreading the karma- if I start writing good things about my teachers and lecturers then hopefully when I’m a teacher I’ll get that back!

Teachers and Staff members at schools are feeling helpless and powerless about something that they can easily control if they just knew how. If you’re in there you can be some sort of moderation in the process. If you know what’s going on you might also be able to improve in some way. You can’t see these things as a negative, and you have to look at it in a positive light and try to stay on top of these things!

 I have moved to teachingtalia.com!

Leave a Reply

Talia

Just finished my Graduate Certificate in Cross Disciplinary Art and Design with UNSW.

Love.

Archives

Categories

RSS taliacarbis.com

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

