Teaching Talia

Tuesday Reflections

Posted on: April 24, 2007

Rotations:

This morning was Nadia’s birthday. We all sung happy birthday to her and she stood up the front and we asked her what she got. I tried to bring kindness week back in a meaningful way by asking what we could do for Nadia to be kind. People suggested cards, gifts etc. all great answers.

After P.E and snack we started rotations. Linda was here in the morning and that was a bit help. It was especially helpful with the smart pizza rotation, what a bust up! I’ve certainly learnt NOT to do that again so early into learning about it! I might try something a bit similar later, after we’ve worked on smart pizzas a bit more.

Linda did have to help them a lot with that one, and that was okay.

Letterland, as it sometimes is, didn’t go 100% well. They are all forgetting to cut out things from the magazine! We will need to work on this a bit more and really drum it into them. Before rotations we went through everything like we usually do- story, chant, finger writing, brainstorming etc.

The memory activity went really well. They enjoyed it. I made them say what each animal that they picked up was, and so hopefully they were learning something about rainforest animals and plants as well. Two thumbs up for this activity, I will definitely do this again.

With the painting they didn’t quite get what I meant. I had to spend a bit of time with the groups out painting because they were putting to much paint on. I accidentally told Tommy’s group that the group before him had ruined their by putting to much paint on it. This was true, and I had spoken to that group about it, but it was interesting that Tommy went and told someone that I had said that. It really goes to show how you have to be careful what you say. Thankfully that wasn’t necessarily a bad thing to have said- I wasn’t saying it behind their backs, but it still wasn’t the best thing to say.

The painting did still look quite effective in the end and I have an idea of maybe using it in the rainforest to cover some walls, or maybe cutting some of it out as ferns, because they don’t look like ferns on their own any more.

Time wise with rotations letterland and the smart pizza activities tended to take a lot longer then the other two. Memory could keep going for as long as it need too, but the painting groups soon ran out of paper. I never thought that I was the kind of person who took a long time to paint, but if I were versing these kids I would! They paint it all quick smart, and do rush it a bit. Is that just a developmental thing, or is that something I can teach them this year?

Time wise as well we did two rotations and then we had first break. After first break we came in and finished them off. That didn’t take to long (to do two rotations) and so I made the children finish off their letterlands as best they could and then get ready for the library. I did this because I thought it was important to get them to do it properly, and it was evident that they needed more time to finish it.

In the library I did an on the spot, very quick, computer lesson with half the class. We learnt how to log on and off. This was a bit of a time consuming exercise, and the next time I do it I will have them already logged on. What DID work however was when the second half of the class came over and they paired up. So everyone new came in and sat with someone who’d already had a go, then that person could show the new person what to do. There was still some confusion as to what they actually had to do, but for a fair few people, this worked well.

Ambrose is quite confident on the computer, and he’s a good help as well, so that was good that he went along and helped out other people.

I find that in the library I am less inclined to raise my voice. That’s where the hand clapping comes in handy, because it’s loud, but not shouting and they be quiet really quickly.

After second break I did another ‘on the spot’ lesson. I knew that I wanted to talk about ANZAC day, because it’s tomorrow, but I didn’t know how to approach it. I ended up talking about what ANZAC meant and told the story of Simpson and his donkey. I remember being told that story every year in primary school, and it was actually quite a funny thing when the kids didn’t know the story or anything about it! This put me off a bit, but I recovered. I was constantly trying to think if the story that I was telling them, and the way I was telling it was a bit over their heads. In the end I thought it didn’t really matter and that they would understand it better next year.

I showed them an old uniform as well. They loved that. Question and answer time was great. I think that this is one of my preferred ways of teaching things, because I know that it’s something that they kids really want to know. I think it’s also more meaningful when one of your peers is asking a question. Even if you don’t want to know it, you still want to know what it is that they want to know.

Leave a Reply

Talia

Just finished my Graduate Certificate in Cross Disciplinary Art and Design with UNSW.

Love.

Archives

Categories

RSS taliacarbis.com

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

